Atrial Fibrillation Patient Advocacy Organization Names Medical Advisory Board, a patient advocacy organization for those living with the most common irregular heartbeat, atrial fibrillation, announces the Medical Advisory Board.

“We are pleased to announce our inaugural Medical Advisory Board, which is made up of some of the world’s foremost electrophysiologists, cardiologists, surgeons, neurologists, epidemiologists, and researchers,” says Mellanie True Hills, founder and CEO. “The Medical Advisory Board will provide a sounding board to help continue to address atrial fibrillation management and treatment, including providing insight into future afib treatment directions.”

The naming of the Medical Advisory Board coincides with the celebration of the 4th annual National Atrial Fibrillation Awareness Month, which was launched by and is now nationally-designated.

Those named to the Medical Advisory Board are:

  • Lishan Aklog, MD, Surgeon
    St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center, Phoenix, AZ
  • Emelia J. Benjamin, MD
    Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, Boston University, Boston, MA and Co-Investigator, Framingham Heart Study, Framingham, MA
  • Prof. John Camm
    Professor of Clinical Cardiology, St. George’s University of London, London, UK
  • Riccardo Cappato, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Center of Clinical Arrhythmia and Electrophysiology, Policlinico San Donato, Milan, Italy
  • Ralph J. Damiano Jr., MD, Surgeon
    Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital, St. Louis, MO
  • James R. Edgerton, MD, Surgeon
    The Heart Hospital Baylor Plano, Plano, TX
  • Kenneth A. Ellenbogen, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA
  • Steven C. Hao, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Sutter Pacific Medical Foundation, San Francisco, CA
  • Peter R. Kowey, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Lankenau Hospital, Wynnewood, PA, President, Main Line Health Heart Center, and Professor of Medicine & Clinical Pharmacology, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Gregory YH Lip, MD
    Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Birmingham Centre for Cardiovascular Sciences, City Hospital, Birmingham, UK
  • Nassir F. Marrouche, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Executive Director, Comprehensive Arrhythmia Research & Management Center at the University of Utah Health Sciences Center, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Andrea Natale, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Executive Medical Director, Texas Cardiac Arrhythmia Institute at St. David’s Medical Center, Austin, TX
  • Prof. Bo Norrving
    Professor of Neurology, Lund University Hospital, Lund, Sweden
    President, World Stroke Organization
  • Douglas L. Packer, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
    President, Heart Rhythm Society 2010-2011
  • Eric N. Prystowsky, MD, Electrophysiologist
    The Care Group, LLC, Indianapolis, IN
  • Vivek Y. Reddy, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, NY
  • Andrea M. Russo, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Professor of Medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
    Director, Cardiac Electrophysiology and Arrhythmia Services, Cooper University Hospital, Camden, NJ
  • John H. Sirak, MD, Surgeon
    Ohio State University Medical Center, Columbus, OH
  • David J. Wilber, MD, Electrophysiologist
    Professor of Medicine, Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood, IL

For more detailed information about each member, see Medical Advisory Board

UPDATED: See current Medical Advisory Board

About was founded in 2007 to improve the quality of life for those living with atrial fibrillation and to save lives by raising awareness of afib and decreasing afib-related strokes. HON Code Certified is for patients by patients, and is the most visited patient arrhythmia site.

For more information, visit or contact Mellanie True Hills at 940-466-9898 or